Precious Time

boyWeb

Our growing young man

Hello. I’m a guest writer for the Persistent K.o.G. but I may start to write from time to time as I’m inspired. You will probably see that my posts will be on quite different topics than Andrew’s. But hey, variety is the spice of life, no?

So last week I took a substitute day for the first time since my daughter was born. It was at one of the schools where I had previously taught, so it went fine- it is always easier to substitute when you know how things work at that particular school. Getting up early in the morning and heading to “work,” however, made me more thankful for the opportunity to stay at home with my children even though being a stay-at-home mom has it challenges too. (Many people seem to think being a stay-at-home mom is an ideal privilege- to which I say Yes! and No!)

To all the mommies out there- this is  my inspiration from the sub day. Soon enough my son will be in school. (No, I probably will not homeschool. For one thing, if everyone homeschooled, teachers would be out of a job. For another thing, I  have met quite a few   homeschooled youth that socially stick out like a sore thumb. I could  go on with my reasons not to homeschool, but I will spare you.) Anyhow, recently I have discovered how much I  enjoy teaching my son and engaging and expanding his mind with educational and fun activities. At the same time,  I have found that it is so easy to  go through days and weeks without  spending much time playing with my child. So I was/am inspired to make a goal for myself. I purpose to do 2-3 creative, teaching activities with my son each  week. (Also I want to start Bible memory with my son.) These activities would be in additional to the daily book reading and spontaneous play that I do every day.

This is a precious time. My children are small and their young minds are soaking up so much. I want to make the most  of these years!

About Andrew Zook

Artist dad husband writer progressive post-evangelical emergent Anabaptist graphic designer web designer reader video editor
This entry was posted in k.o.g. lifestyle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

